Skip to Main Content

Alabama: State Resource Guide

This guide provides access to digital materials related to the state of Alabama at the Library of Congress, as well as links to external websites and a selected print bibliography.


Alabama was established as a separate territory in 1817 and was admitted to the Union on December 14, 1819 as the 22nd state. Montgomery was established as the first capital in 1861 after Alabama seceded from the Union and joined the Confederate States of America.

Racial injustice and segregation in Alabama was the catalyst for major historical events that occurred during the civil rights era such as the Montgomery Bus Boycott, the 1961 Freedom Rides, and the Selma to Montgomery March. The outcome of these actions desegregated schools and public places in the South.

This guide compiles links to digital materials related to Alabama such as books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, photographs, sheet music, and sound recordings that are available throughout the Library of Congress website. In addition, it provides links to external websites focusing on Alabama and a bibliography containing selected works for both general and younger readers.