Skip to Main Content

Arnold Schoenberg: A Guide to Primary and Secondary Resources at the Library of Congress

Published Music

The Music Division holds both more recent and early editions of Schoenberg's music. Find them by searching in the Library of Congress Online Catalog using the Library of Congress Classification Schedule. The sections on this page highlight published scores of Schoenberg's music that offer research interest, including facsimiles and critical editions.

Case Study: Published Verklärte Nacht scores

Find a variety of published scores of Schoenberg's music in the Music Division's collections. The scores for Verklärte Nacht, op. 4 provide an illuminating example of their potential research use.

In addition to Schoenberg's original holograph manuscript for Verklärte Nacht, op. 4 (See the "Music Manuscripts" page of this research guide), the Music Division holds the 1905 original printing of the parts, the 1917 first edition of the full score, and Schoenberg's later revision for string orchestra. Researchers are thereby able to consult all four differing versions of the work. The following titles offer a representative sample and link to fuller bibliographic information in the Library of Congress Online Catalog. Links to additional online content are included when available.

Request and view published music scores in the Performing Arts Reading Room.


The Music Division holds facsimile reproductions for several Schoenberg manuscripts held by other institutions, such as:

Find more facsimiles by searching the finding aid for the Moldenhauer archives, the Library's Online Catalog or by browsing the catalog under the call number ML96.5 B44.

Critical Editions

Started in 1969, the Sämtliche Werke for Schoenberg's music is nearly complete. As of 2019, 75 out of 78 planned volumes and two supplements have been published. The subject of this critical edition is not only a final version of Schoenberg's musical works but also his early versions, sketches, and arrangements.

The volumes are divided into two series, A and B:

  • Series A contains the completed works and performable unfinished works
  • Series B contains the early versions of completed works, unfinished works, sketches, drafts, history of each work, and the editors' critical reports. The critical reports consist of a description of the sources used and lists of readings with commentary.

This title links to fuller bibliographic information in the Library of Congress Online Catalog.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for locating imprints of Schoenberg's music within the Music Division's collection and through external resources include: