Related Resources

The reference works, divided into the following four sections, discuss visual materials as well as general scholarship and research on architecture, design, and engineering:

Where to Find Related Resources: Depositories and societies where you can search and seek advice for your research or to locate the item you are looking for. Divisions in the Library of Congress are listed in the first tab and organizations outside of the Library are listed in the second tab.
Published Work (General): Reference works which discuss visual materials as well as general scholarship and research on architecture, design and engineering. Each work includes various materials from the Library collections.
Published Works: Norton/Library of Congress Visual Sourcebook in Architecture, Design, and Engineering: A series of publications by building types (e.g. libraries, barns, etc.) in which various materials from the Library collections are included.
Useful databases for Architecture, Design, and Engineering research: The ones listed in the first tab are free-use which can be accessible from anywhere, while those in the second tab are available only at the Library or an institution which subscribes to these databases.

Resources related to specific collections are included underneath specific listings in the Collections section of this guide.

Collections related to architecture, design, and engineering can be found at the following divisions in the Library of Congress.

Center for Architecture, Design, and Engineering in the Prints & Photographs Division
The Center for Architecture, Design, and Engineering was established in the Library of Congress in 2002 to focus attention on, encourage support for, and promote the study of the Library's unmatched architecture, design, and engineering collections, thereby increasing the public's awareness and appreciation of the achievements of the architecture, design, and engineering professions and their contributions to our quality of life.
Architecture Collections in the Manuscript Division
A Research Guide introducing over forty collections related to architecture in the Manuscript Division.
Geography & Map Division
In addition to an outstanding collection of Sanborn Fire Insurance maps, which provide detailed information about the construction materials and heights of many buildings, county atlases, topographic maps, and other kinds of cartographic resources are available.
Performing Arts Division
Includes costume and theatrical set designs.
Rare Book & Special Collections Division
Many illustrated books are available for the study of architecture, design, and engineering, especially publications pre-1800. Another strength is the design of books and type faces.
General Collections
Monographs and serials in which photographs, drawings, articles by creators, scholars, and journalists were published. Advertisements and information on products included in publications are also useful resources. Engineering related collections such as technical reports and Sweet’s Catalog File (Research Guide), a building product source in nearly thirty categories, starting as early as 1906 is also available at the Science and Business Reading Room.

Architectural depositories outside of the Library of Congress can be found through the following links.

International Confederation of Architectural Museum members External
Listing nearly 100 archives and museums which hold architecture, design, and engineering collections from all over the world.
Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) Resources External
Resources mainly for architecture and landscape architecture. Materials include the SAH journals (member only), SAHARA (digital archive of over 155,000 architecture and landscape images, member only), ARCHIPEDIA (an authoritative online encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment), dissertation lists, archive lists, and more.
Society of American Archivist (SAA) Design Group “Finding Design Records” External
Listing of the repositories which hold architecture, design, and engineering collections in the United States.
Documentation and Conservation of buildings, sites, and neighborhoos of Modern Movement (DOCOMOMO) External
International movement to conserve and document modern buildings, site, and neighborhood.

Published Works (General)

The following reference works discuss visual materials as well as general scholarship and research on architecture, design, and engineering. Books, periodicals, dissertations and theses, articles and blogs, exhibitions, and webcasts related to specific collections are listed along with each collection in Primary Archives, Selected Projects, Thematic Collections, Photogarpher Archives and Other Collections.

Aeronautical and Astronautical Resources of the Library of Congress by Ronald S. Wilkinson; John F. Buydos; William J. Sittig
Call Number: Z663.41 .A22 2007
ISBN: 9780844411606
Published/Created: 2007-09-01
Architectural Collections of the Library of Congress by C. Ford Peatross; Library of Congress Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Z663 .A86
ISBN: 0844402540
Published/Created: 1977-01-01
Capital Drawings by C. Ford Peatross; Pamela Scott (As told to); Diane Tepfer (As told to); Leslie Freudenheim (As told to); Evelyn Sinclair (Assisted by)
Call Number: NA2695.U6 L533 2005
ISBN: 0801872324
Published/Created: 2005-12-09
The history and development of Washington D.C. as seen through its buildings, monuments, and public and private spaces. Over the past ten years, the Library of Congress has cataloged more than forty thousand drawings, prints, and photographs that capture important developments in the growth of Washington, D.C., and its greater metropolitan area, including Virginia and Maryland. This elegant volume, a guide to the library's massive collection, offers an introduction to its content and a celebration of the ambitious project of designing the nation's capital. Capital Drawings features drawings for some of Washington's most important buildings, monuments, and memorials--the United States Capitol, the White House, and the Vietnam Memorial--as well as anonymous structures of everyday life and ambitious projects that were never built. These newly available documents tell the story of the capital's planning and growth. Each of these "capital drawings" reflects some aspect of the lives, history, and values of its creators and sponsors. Featuring essays from distinguished scholars in preservation, architecture, and history, Capital Drawings invites us to explore the history and development of a city and nation through the buildings, monuments, and public and private spaces that have given them physical form and symbolic meaning. Contributors: Richard Longstreth, George Washington University; C. Ford Peatross, Library of Congress; Pamela Scott, American University; William Seale, White House Historical Association; Damie Stillman, Society of Architectural Historians; Gwendolyn Wright, Columbia University.
Papers relating to the improvement of the city of Washington, District of Columbia. Comp. by by Glenn Brown, secretary of the American Institute of Architects; with an introduction by Charles Moore, clerk of Senate Committee on the District of Columbia.
Call Number: F199 .P21
Published/Created: 1901
Washingtoniana by Kathleen K. Collins
Call Number: F195 .L66 1989
ISBN: 0844405884
Published/Created: 1989-01-01

Published Works: Norton/Library of Congress Visual Sourcebook in Architecture, Design, and Engineering

A series launched by the Library of Congress in collaboration with W. W. Norton in 2003.

American Libraries 1730-1950 by Kenneth Breisch
Call Number: Z679.2.U54 B73 2017
ISBN: 9780393731606
Published/Created: 2017-09-05
An expansive overview of our storehouses of knowledge, from the earliest library building (Philadelphia, 1745) to midcentury modern and beyond. Although new technologies appear poised to alter it, the library remains a powerful site for discovery, and its form is still determined by the geometry of the book and the architectural spaces devised to store and display it. American Libraries provides a history and panorama of these much-loved structures, inside and out, encompassing the small personal collection, the vast university library, and everything in between. Through 500 photographs and plans selected from the encyclopedic collections of the Library of Congress, Kenneth Breisch traces the development of libraries in the United States, from roots in such iconic examples as the British Library and Paris's Bibliotheque-Ste.-Genevieve to institutions imbued with their own, American mythology. Starting with the private collections of wealthy merchants and landowners during the eighteenth century, the book looks at the Library of Congress, large and small public libraries, and the Carnegie libraries, and it ends with a glimpse of modern masterworks. 850 illustrations
Barns by John Michael Vlach
Call Number: NA8230 .V6 2003
ISBN: 9780393730869
Published/Created: 2003-04-17
The first in the Norton/Library of Congress Visual Sourcebooks series, Barns presents a broad, fresh, and newly informed visual analysis of one of America's fundamental building types. In a nation founded upon agrarian principles, with a cultural and physical landscape as vast as it is diverse, the barn has long been recognized as an American icon. Drawn from the vast holdings of the Library of Congress, nearly 1,000 illustrations provide a tour of barns across the United States, from New England to the Great Lakes to the South, Midwest, and Far West. Barns traces geographical and chronological continuities of type, design, and construction, and Dutch, German, French and Spanish influence. Captions identify each document and building, and all images are included on a CD-ROM with a link to the Library's high-resolution files. Barns is the first comprehensive visual resource of its kind, an invaluable tool for architects, historians, students, and all those who love barns.
Bridges by Richard L. Cleary
Call Number: TG300 .C54 2007
ISBN: 9780393731361
Published/Created: 2007-04-17
An account of American bridge design, from familiar monuments tomodest structures that offer eloquent statements of problemssolved. Bridges are such ubiquitous features of the built environmentthat we cross most of them barely acknowledging their presence.Certain bridges, however, command attention: for their utilityfacilitating travel from here to there; for their size, setting,beauty, or historical associations. Ordinary or spellbinding, everybridge is a response to a problem¿the spanning of a river orother obstacle, solved more or less elegantly. This visualsourcebook surveys American bridges from coast to coast in terms offour fundamental structural types (beam, arch, truss, andsuspension) and the special category of movable bridges (swing,lift, and bascule) showing how similar structural ideas have beenaddressed by different designers, refined over time, and renderedin various building materials. A special feature is ¿A Callfor Preservation¿ of the American bridge engineering heritageby Eric DeLony, formerly chief of the Historic American EngineeringRecord, National Park Service.
Canals by Robert J. Kapsch
Call Number: HE395.A3 K36 2004
ISBN: 9780393730883
Published/Created: 2004-09-17
Canals describes the development of these waterways in their heyday and shows the varied structures they engendered. This richly illustrated history of America's first transportation system provides capsule tours of thirty-five canals and a journey along two of the most famous: the Chesapeake & Ohio (now a National Park) and the Morris Canal (largely lost to development).
Cemeteries by Keith Eggener
Call Number: GT3203 .E44 2010
ISBN: 9780393731699
Published/Created: 2010-12-13
The newest book in the Norton/Library of Congress takes readers on a visual journey from early churchyards and family plots to the establishment of the nation's first rural cemeteries of the nineteenth century, to the expansive memorial parks and 'green' burials of today. With more than 600 archival photographs and plans that shed light on the great diversity of burial structures and traditions, this comprehensive sourcebook introduces readers to cemeteries' impressive diversity.Cemeteries examines the extent to which burial grounds of all kinds have held a significant place in our culture. The history and development of cemeteries are limned throughout , from the burial grounds themselves-reflecting a wide variety of ethnic and social groups from almost every state as well as American military cemeteries-to the vast array of related practices and traditions. The intricacy of the various architectural structures (burial chapels, private mausoleums, crematories, and the ironwork of cemetery gates) are examined and placed upon the historical timeline of our nation.
Dams by Christine Macy
Call Number: TC547 .M23 2010
ISBN: 9780393731392
Published/Created: 2010-01-25
A lavishly illustrated exploration of these landscapedefiningstructures across the United States. Dams are a monumental presence on the American landscape. Thisnewest book in the Norton/Library of Congress series shows that thehistory of dam development is characterized by invention andinnovation, and parallels that of the United States. It emphasizesthe unique design and engineering complexities of these impressivestructures.
Lighthouses by Sara E. Wermiel
Call Number: TC375 .W525 2006
ISBN: 9780393731668
Published/Created: 2006-12-17
It covers lighthouses from all parts of the United States from the late eighteenth century to the 1940s, when control of the lighthouses was transferred to the Coast Guard and after which few new ones were constructed. Images of lighthouses from coast to coast provide examples of striking design and setting as well as celebrating technological achievement and the work of important engineers include associated structures such as keepers' quarters, fog signal buildings, boathouses and boat railroads, cistern buildings, barns, and workshops, as well as interiors and working details of the light mechanisms.
Public Markets by Helen Tangires
Call Number: NA6273 .T36 2008
ISBN: 9780393731675
Published/Created: 2008-03-17
An illustrated history of the buildings and spacesdevoted to the urban marketplace for fresh food. The public market is a worldwide urban phenomenon with atradition as old as cities themselves, continuing today in thegreenmarket movement. Surveyed here by type are open-airmarketplaces, street markets, street vendors, markets that occupythe ground floor of public buildings, open-sided sheds situated inthe middle of wide streets, and fully-enclosed market houses, aswell as central markets and wholesale markets, whose complex ofbuildings and streets encompass entire market districts. Specialfeatures include an essay on the nearly two-hundred-year history ofthe Fulton Fish Market in New York City and a section on the peopleand activities that make the public-market system work?fromthe farmers and fishermen who travel before dawn to the sanitationstaff who clean up at the end of the day. Public markets persist asan enduring and universal form of urban food marketing anddistribution, and a strong sense of tradition informs theirarchitecture, design, and engineering. 850 illustrations plusCD-ROM of all illustrations.
Railroad Stations by David Naylor
Call Number: NA6311 .N39 2012
ISBN: 9780393731644
Published/Created: 2011-11-14
Almost overnight railway lines sprawled across the United States, quickly assuming a key role in America's rapid growth and development. Linking these lines that crisscrossed the map were the stations themselves, the very centerpieces--physical and metaphorical¯of civic and cultural life in America. They were backdrops to commonplace comings and goings as well as public lecturers and evangelists, rallies and wartime troop movement; outposts of Western settlement; staging grounds for presidential whistle-stop tours; and destinations for a new class of tourists that arose at the turn of the twentieth century. Reflecting a vast range of shapes, styles, and sizes, their architectural diversity defined them nearly as much as their hallowed place in American history. Organized by region, Railroad Stations: The Buildings That Link the Nation captures all their expressions, from modest to glorious. Here are rugged Western depots, ghost-town stations in the Plains, an art deco masterpiece in Ohio, and grand urban landmarks. Also showcased are related features such as waiting rooms and concourses, some with lavish displays of artwork; elegant details including cornices, cupolas, campaniles, and clock towers; adjacent train sheds and hotels; carriage shops and roadhouses; baggage carts; and much, much more. In over 600 striking archival plans, drawings, maps, and images--many from panoramic and aerial perspectives, and taken by such noted photographers as Jack Boucher, Jack Delano, and Jet Lowe--the stories of railroad stations big and small are charted, a visual feast of images chronicling the history and stylistic character of one of our nation's most iconic building types.
Theaters by Craig Morrison
Call Number: NA6830 .M67 2006
ISBN: 9780393731088
Published/Created: 2005-12-17
The latest title in the Norton/Library of Congress Visual Sourcebooks series, Theaters offers a richly illustrated history of a revered cultural artifact and a technological challenge, following its progression from the eighteenth-century opera house to the modern movie multiplex. This visual sourcebook traces the development of its colorful and varied forms as they developed in early America, on the western frontier, and in cities from coast to coast. The first comprehensive study of American theaters, it illustrates their wide range from raucous music halls to vaudeville, from circus to grand opera, from World's Fair to Coney island, from nickelodeon to glorious picture palace. Also featured are theaters for burlesque, theaters afloat, military theaters, Shakespearean theaters, summer theaters, theaters and African-Americans, and arenas (when a stage just won't do), enlivened by a cast of entrepreneurs and showmen who were the movers and shakers of our theatrical heritage. CD-ROM included: screen resolution scans in easy-to-use TIFF format for Mac and PC.

Useful databases for Architecture, Design, and Engineering research

Free Access
On-site Only

The following databases are accessible from anywhere where the Internet connection is available.

Berkeley Program on Housing and Urban Policy External This link opens in a new window

Established in the fall of 1998 to promote academic excellence and national leadership in the analysis of housing and the application of knowledge to urban policy, the Berkeley Program on Housing and Urban Policy has the following online publications available: Working Papers, Seminar and Conference Papers, Dissertations and Theses, Professional Government Reports and Books.
Digital Commons Network External This link opens in a new window

The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areasfrom Architecture to Zoology.
Freely Accessible Art & Architecture Online Resources This link opens in a new window

A collection of publicly available art and architecture online resources selected by Library of Congress staff.
Getty Open Content Program External This link opens in a new window

Currently, there are more than 87,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program, including more than 72,000 from the Getty Research Institute's Foto Arte Minore archive, which features photographs of the art and architecture of Italy over 30 years by German photographer and scholar Max Hutzel (19131988). Other images include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks. Over time, images from the Getty Conservation Institute will be added, as well as more images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute.
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
MT Digital Collections External This link opens in a new window
These digital collections document diverse elements of the history of Middle Tennessee State University, Rutherford County and the mid-state. Some of the collections included are:
- Buchanan Family Collection: This collection documents the family of James McGill Buchanan (1919-2013), MTSU alumnus and 1986 winner of the Nobel Prize for Economics.
- Cannon County (TN) Collection: This collection includes photographs of agricultural activities in Cannon County, TN that were taken by W.L. Clement, District Conservationist for the U.S. Soil Conservation Service, and his assistants between the mid-1940s and mid-1970s.
- Cedar Glades Studies Collection: Cedar glades are an endangered ecosystem that are globally rare. These extremely rare habitats are found primarily in Middle Tennessee and a few localities in other southeastern states.
- Milton Collection: A collection of 19th century documents from the Milton community in eastern Rutherford County, most associated with the Bilbro family. Importantly, the ledgers of Dr. Bilbro document many names of families who lived in and near Milton in the mid-19th century.
- Shades of Gray and Blue: In Tennessee, we have all heard stories of life and death on the states Civil War battlefields, but what happened to the men, women, and children who stayed at home? Their stories, seen through the lens of the objects that were a part of their daily lives, reflect the ways Tennesseans adapted, coped, and thrived during the war.
- Stones River Battlefield Historic Landscape Collection: The Stones River Battlefield Historic Landscape Project documents the history of people, land use, and nature in the Stones River Battlefield area. Of special interest are the history of the post-Civil War racialized landscape the many ways in which the battle has been commemorated, from the construction of Hazen Monument in 1863 to the establishment and development of Stones River National Battlefield.
NGA Images This link opens in a new window

With the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works on NGA Images are now freely available for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images. Designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration, NGA Images includes more than 20,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each. All are available free of charge for searching, browsing, sharing, and downloading. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts.
NYC Municipal Archives Collections External This link opens in a new window

The New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery provides research access to over 870,000 images selected from NYC's different municipal departments. Most of these unique photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time. Users may find products of WNYC Radio, Film & TV that captured lives and events of passing historical moments, they may also find photographs of case files from the DA office as well as evidence from the Police Department. Users can explore and search the collections individually, or across all collections by keyword or any of the advanced search criteria. The gallery includes many complete collections for others, only representative samples are currently on display. New content will be added on a regular basis.
SAH Archipedia: Classic Buildings External This link opens in a new window

SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, and contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 8,500 structures and places. These are mostly buildings, but as you explore SAH Archipedia you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. Currently, the content of SAH Archipedia is drawn from the award-winning book series, Buildings of the United States (BUS), and includes histories and thematic essays from twelve of the published BUS volumes: Massachusetts (Metropolitan Boston), Rhode Island, Pennsylvania (Eastern and Western), the District of Columbia, Virginia (Tidewater and Piedmont), West Virginia, Michigan, Iowa, Colorado, Nevada, and Alaska.
SAH Archipedia will grow in the coming years, as other published BUS books are digitized (including Delaware, Louisiana, and Hawaii), as current BUS volumes are completed (Texas: Central, South, and Gulf Coast Vermont Virginia: The Valley and Southwest North Dakota Wisconsin Missouri Mississippi New Hampshire Texas: East, North, and West and Arkansas among them), and as peer-reviewed, born-digital content is created. While the immediate goal is to have all fifty states represented in SAH Archipedia, U.S. content is only the beginning. The authors envision SAH Archipedia to become a comprehensive resource for information on buildings from across the globe.

AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950: From Gothic Revival to the New Brutalism
FREE ACCESS
The first online biographical dictionary of architects working in all the four nations of the UK, plus the Republic of Ireland. The AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950 includes approximately 3,000 entries extracted from the Art History Research net database Arts+Architecture ProFiles (A+AP). It contains contains biographical, bibliographical and Internet data on architects born or working in Ireland, Wales and Scotland during years 1800-1950. Searches can be made by the name of an architect or firm, gender, and the country in which an architect worked.
Digital Collections, Wayne State University Libraries External
FREE ACCESS
The Wayne State University Library System, through its digital publishing initiatives, strives to bring unique, important, or institutionally relevant content to Wayne State Universitys academic community and to the larger world. The Digital Collections represent text, images, and audiovisual material that support this mission through a diversity of projects. Over 50,000 images and texts celebrate Detroit's contributions to the arts, fashion, history, architecture, interior design, medicine, and more.
more...less...
Collections include:
• Changing Face of the Auto Industry
• Detroit Focus Quarterly
• The Detroit Sunday Journal
• Dennis Glen Cooper Collection
• First U.S. Human-to-Human Heart Transplant
• Herman Miller Consortium Collection
• The Lincoln Letters
• Made in Michigan Writers Series
• Michigan Opera Theatre Performance Images
• Florence Nightingale Collection
• Building the Detroit Renaissance Center
• Eloise Ramsey Collection of Literature for Young People
• Van Riper Family Correspondence
• Wayne State University eBooks
• Virtual Motor City (IE incompatible)

The following databases are searchable only at the Library of Congress or an institution which subscribes to the Databases.

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) External This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins in the arts, as well as expanded coverage of European, Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Indexing (1984- ), Abstracting (1994- ), select Full Text (1997- ). Subjects Covered: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, and Video.
The simultaneous user limit for this resource may result in temporary delays.
Art History Research net External This link opens in a new window
Art History Research net (AHR net), formerly known as Arts:Search, consists of five related and linked databases:
- ReView Contains the full text of a wide range of International Art and Architecture journals published between the 1860s and the 1930s
- Arts + Architecture Profiles Contains biographical data on nearly 45,000 artists, architects, designers and craftspeople
- Design Abstracts Retrospective Contains abstracts of articles and an index of images in design journals published between 1900-1986
- Research Sources 1: British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s This is an ongoing project to digitize every book, exhibition catalogue, pamphlet and conference paper, as well as much of the journal literature published in Britain and Ireland during the late nineteenth century and early years of the twentieth century
- Research Sources 2: The Poster Contains extensive research data on the history of the Poster
Art Retrospective External This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 50 years of citations from hundreds of the leading art periodicals and magazines. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in the periodicals covered.
The simultaneous user limit for this resource may result in temporary delays.
ARTstor External This link opens in a new window
Contains digital art images, museum reproductions, and photograph collections documenting the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Images are international in scope and coverage includes a wide variety of civilizations, time-periods and media. The images are drawn from different sources, such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The database is updated with new images on a regular basis.
Network restrictions at LC limit access to some images.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals External This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Includes the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Also contains obituary citations for many less-published architects.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index External This link opens in a new window
Contains data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops and firms from more than 500 design and craft journals. Also include the Periodicals Directory of design and craft journals containing for each title, the publisher's address telephone and fax numbers, e-mail addresses and web site details details of subjects covered a brief description of the contents of the journal original date of publication details of title changes and ISSN number.
Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive External This link opens in a new window
With more than 750,000 high-quality runway, backstage, and street style images, the Fashion Photography Archive advances knowledge of recent fashion history and gives inspiration for fashion design students. Editor-in-Chief Valerie Steele says the collection provides an "incredible way to... remind yourself of all the amazing fashions and visual fashion moments there were... how incredibly rich the whole history of contemporary fashion is."
Accompanying the wealth of images in the Archive are more than 200 articles specially commissioned for the site. The last 30 years of fashion history are diverse and fascinating. These articles cover a range of topics, and they give detailed overviews of the fashion cities, catwalk shows, textiles, and beyond. More than 100 biographies are available for all Bloomsbury Fashion Central users and provide the perfect starting point for any fashion topic.
The career of Niall McInerney, the photographer of the Fashion Photography Archive, crossed four decades. The giant selection of images in the Fashion Photography Archive reflects the variety of shows, designers, supermodels, and celebrities that he captured during this time. In a series of short videos, Steele interviews him about what it was like to photograph catwalk shows, back stage, and street style -- and asks him for his insight into the shows of some of the world's best known designers.
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection External This link opens in a new window
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, the Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
Invaluable External This link opens in a new window
Invaluable (formerly Artfact) is the worlds largest online auction marketplace of fine and decorative arts, antiques, collectibles, and estate sales. Across all three of their sites--invaluable.com, invaluable.co.uk, and auctionzip.com--more than 30 million bidders per year arrive in the virtual salerooms of the worlds premier auction houses. Collectors have unprecedented access to the items they are most passionate about. Invaluables live online bidding platform allows collectors to bid in real-time on auctions held around the world.
Bidders can search and buy from over 160,000 auctions annually with a combined value of over $25 billion. Invaluables best in class price database includes more than 57 million complete auction results totaling more than $204 billion in value, including information on more than 500,000 international artists.
As the worlds leading provider of SaaS technology and marketing services to the $40 billion live auctions market, Invaluable provides auctioneers with marketing and e-commerce solutions including auction listings, online bidding, websites, and auction management software (RFC Systems) reaching over 25,000 estate and art auctioneers around the globe.
The simultaneous user limit for this resource may result in temporary delays.
Requires username and password; see reference staff for assistance.
Meiji Japan External This link opens in a new window
Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) was a great polymath – notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history – but, perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together.
Morse was one of the first Americans to live in Japan. He went there on a scientific expedition in 1877 and his enthusiasm and approach so impressed his hosts that he was made Chair of Zoology at the new Imperial University of Tokyo. But his interests were never limited to evolutionary theory and scientific methodology – in 1882 he turned his attention to ethnology and the documentation of life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization. In addition to preserving the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artists’ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture.

An accomplished draughtsman, his pencil and ink drawings, enliven his diaries and correspondence and make his papers a pleasure to read.

He published some of his findings in Japanese Homes and their Surroundings (1886) and Japan Day by Day (1916), but there is so much more material in his archive, now awaiting the researcher. For instance:

The original Japan diaries run to over 3,000 pages and contain over 1,300 sketches.
Journals of visits to England, France and Germany in the 1880s show the interest of Europeans in gaining authentic insights into ordinary life in Japan and China.
The correspondence includes exchanges with Louis Agassiz, William Sturgis Bigelow, Ernest Fenollosa, John M Gould, Perceval Lowell, Frederick Putnam and Charles Weld, as well as with former students such as Chiomatsu Isahikawa.
Scrapbooks contain a wealth of rare and ephemeral material on myriad subjects.
Records of his publications and lectures reveal his interests in archaeology, art, astronomy, ethnology, religion and zoology, as well as his desire to encourage an American audience to appreciate Asian society and culture.
Morse was one of the earliest and most important mediators between American and Asian societies. It is fitting that his papers should now enable scholars to explore these links.
Oxford Bibliographies External This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is a tool designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information quickly by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research. OBO is a library of disciplined-based subject modules. In each subject module, leading scholars have produced a literary guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best. The guides feature a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult. Each topic has a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. The citations promote discoverability as they link out to the sources via your library collection or through Google books and more. Bibliographies are currently available in the following areas:
- American Literature
- Anthropology
- Architecture, Planning, and Preservation
- Atlantic History
- Biblical Studies
- British and Irish Literature
- Buddhism
- Classics
- Islamic Studies
- Jewish Studies<
- Medieval Studies
- Music
- Philosophy
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Renaissance and Reformation
- Urban Studies
- Victorian Literature
Periodicals Index Online External This link opens in a new window
PCI (formerly Periodicals Contents Index) indexes millions of articles published in 7,770 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, some as far back as 1770. PCI contains the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Key journal titles include: Antioch Review Business History Review Comparative Literature Current History Edinburgh Review Foreign Affairs Journal of Economic Education Journal of Modern Literature Middle East Journal Philosophy Today Studies in Romanticism and Yearbook of English Studies. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages, grouped under the following subject headings: -- Agriculture / Ancient Civilisations / Anthropology - Ethnology / Applied Arts / Archaeology / Architecture / Area Studies - Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, Middle East -- Black Studies / Business/Management / Economics / Education / Fine Arts / Folklore / Geography / History (General) / History (The Americas) / Humanities (General) -- Jewish Studies / Law / Library - Information Science / Linguistics/Philology / Literature / Music / Performing Arts / Philosophy / Political Science / Psychology /Public Administration -- Religion - Theology / Social Affairs / Social Sciences (General) / Sociology / Women's Studies.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global External This link opens in a new window
Index of doctoral dissertations and master's theses, with coverage from 1861 to the present. Those published from 1980 to present include abstracts, and many of those published since the 1990's are available in full text (PDF digital format) along with 24 page previews. Full text dissertations may be downloaded to a zip disc or emailed to a user account (but be aware that restrictions on your email account or security precautions at your institution might prevent the document from reaching you after leaving the Library). Please limit printing from Library of Congress workstations to citations and summaries.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers & Periodicals External This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II to local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects.

Newspapers include: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger; The American Israelite; The Arizona Republican, The Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; The Baltimore Afro-American; The Baltimore Sun; The Boston Globe; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; The Christian Science Monitor; The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call and Post; Detroit Free Press; The Guardian and The Observer; Hartford Courant; The Jewish Advocate; The Jewish Exponent; Los Angeles Sentinel; Los Angeles Times; Newsday; New York Amsterdam News; The New York Times; New York Tribune/Herald Tribune; Norfolk Journal and Guide; The Philadelphia Enquirer; Philadelphia Tribune; Pittsburgh Courier; San Francisco Chronicle; San Francisco Examiner, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; The Times of India; The Wall Street Journal; The Washington Post
Selected E-Journals in Art, Architecture & Applied Arts External This link opens in a new window
Browse an alphabetical subject list of full-text electronic journals in Art, Architecture & Applied Arts provided by Serials Solutions. List of subjects: Architecture Arts & Crafts Fine Arts (General) Gardens, Landscape Architecture & Parks and Visual Arts, including Decorative Arts Drawing Design & Illustration Painting, Photography.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History External This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs.
Urban Land Institute External This link opens in a new window
Urban Land is the magazine of the Urban Land Institute (ULI). Provides timely, succinct and useful information from ULI, specific stories and examples, information from peers and colleagues in real estate and land use, perspectives on today's issues and topics. Also includes access to the ULI Real Estate Business Barometer.
Access is limited to Congressional Research Service staff and contractors with username and password.
Women's Magazine Archive (Collection I) External This link opens in a new window
Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th- to 21th-century history and culture. Womens Magazine Archive (Collection I) provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping, Woman's Day, and Ladies Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of childrens education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends. Elsewhere, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and Essence disclose trends in and responses to the changing roles and experiences of teenage, young adult, and African-American women respectively. In combination, the publications here cover topics such as consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, home economics, health and fitness, careers, fashion, popular culture, home/interior design and many more. This material serves multiple research areas, from gender studies, social history, and the arts, through to education, politics and marketing/media history.

Architecture, Design and Engineering Collections in the Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division

Prints & Photographs: Ask a Librarian

Related Resources

Where to Find Related Resources

Published Works (General)

Published Works: Norton/Library of Congress Visual Sourcebook in Architecture, Design, and Engineering

Useful databases for Architecture, Design, and Engineering research