America's Historical Newspapers features full text cover-to-cover reproductions of historic newspapers published in 50 states and the District of Columbia. The coverage provides insight into the early years of the United States: the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities; the later westward expansion and the rise of the penny press with its increasing emphasis on society, industry, and scientific advances; the Civil War era, Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, the Progressive era, and beyond. Please note that the full text may not be available for all issues of a particular newspaper (the database continues to grow). Collections include:

• African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (Series 1 and Series 2)
• American Business: Agricultural Newspapers
• American Business: Mercantile Newspapers
• American Gazettes: Newspapers of Record
• American Politics: Campaign Newspapers
• American Religion: Denominational Newspapers
• Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation
• Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic
• Early American Newspapers, Series 3, 1783-1922: From Farm to City
• Early American Newspapers, Series 4, 1756-1922: The Rise of Industry
• Early American Newspapers, Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging World Power
• Early American Newspapers, Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion
• Early American Newspapers, Series 7: 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment
• Early American Newspapers, Series 8, 1844-1922: A Nation in Transition
• Early American Newspapers, Series 9, 1832-1922: Protest and Prosperity
• Early American Newspapers, Series 10, 1730-1900: Regional Pioneers
• Early American Newspapers, Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power
• Early American Newspapers, Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press
• Early American Newspapers, Series 13, 1803-1916: The American West
• Early American Newspapers, Series 14, 1807-1880: The Expansion of Urban America
• Early American Newspapers, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities
• Early American Newspapers, Series 16, 1800-1877: Industry and the Environment
• Early American Newspapers Series 17, 1844-1922: American Heartland
• Early American Newspapers, Series 18, 1825-1879: Racial Awakening in the Northeast

Provides a single resource for seven decades of articles on the most important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry (including the complete file of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957), plus the most important historical sources in the applied science and technology field for the 20th century. It provides cover-to-cover indexing for more than 2,000 periodicals that include more than 4.5 million articles. It is an excellent resource for tracking down important studies, exploring historical controversies, finding papers by innovators, researching the development of a particular technology, and more.

An index to historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. This database contains nearly 1 million records (largely summary descriptions) of archival and manuscript collections plus more than 50,000 finding aids (detailed lists describing the content of collections) from over from 190 contributors. Also includes RLG's AMC (Archival and Mixed Collections) file. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies. It also includes collection descriptions from WorldCat bibliographic records and from finding aids harvested from ArchiveGrid contributors' websites.To try the new beta version of ArchiveGrid.

Chronicling America provides free access to millions of pages of historic American public domain newspapers. More than 3000 titles, published in 48 states and territories and the District of Columbia are available (eventual coverage will be all states and territories, 1690-1963). The headlines, articles and advertisements capture the life and times of the American people, shining new light on historic events as they unfolded. Also provides a link to find information about newspapers published in the United States from 1690. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress.

HathiTrust is a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries that brings together the immense collections of its partner institutions. Initially conceived as a collaboration between the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California system, and the University of Virginia in order to establish a repository for those universities to archive and share their digitized collections, HathiTrust quickly expanded to include additional partners with a fast growing treasure of digitized collections.

Additional content and features are available to researchers and staff with patron accounts. Log In by clicking on the button in the upper right of the Hathi Trust website and following the instructions. Additional information is available here: HathiTrust Authentication Help

This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.

Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The collection is a treasure trove of information on some of America’s best known brands, containing thousands of reports commissioned by advertising agencies and global businesses in a booming era for consumerism, ‘Madison Avenue’ advertising and global brands on consumer goods ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels.

NewspaperARCHIVE.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old - including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more to fill in the life stories you are interested in. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II to local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects.

Newspapers include: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger; The American Israelite; The Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; The Baltimore Afro-American; The Baltimore Sun; The Boston Globe; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; The Christian Science Monitor; Cleveland Call and Post; Detroit Free Press; The Guardian and The Observer; Hartford Courant; The Jewish Advocate; The Jewish Exponent; Los Angeles Sentinel; Los Angeles Times; New York Amsterdam News; The New York Times; New York Tribune/Herald Tribune; Norfolk Journal and Guide; Philadelphia Tribune; Pittsburgh Courier; San Francisco Chronicle; San Francisco Examiner, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Times of India; The Wall Street Journal; The Washington Post

Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th- to 21th-century history and culture. Womens Magazine Archive (Collection I) provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping, Woman's Day, and Ladies Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of childrens education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends. Elsewhere, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and Essence disclose trends in and responses to the changing roles and experiences of teenage, young adult, and African-American women respectively. In combination, the publications here cover topics such as consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, home economics, health and fitness, careers, fashion, popular culture, home/interior design and many more. This material serves multiple research areas, from gender studies, social history, and the arts, through to education, politics and marketing/media history.