U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals

The United States Emergency Court of Appeals was created under the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942 and ceased hearing cases in 1961. This temporary federal court had national jurisdiction to determine the validity of wartime price control measures under the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942 and the Housing and Rent Control Act of 1947.

A black and white photograph of an 'anti-inflation' window display with a figure of Uncle Sam — Howard Liberman, photographer. Price control. Anti-inflation window display. The joint effort of the government and merchant to prevent inflation is the big selling point of this display. Most important is the "shy-ceiling-prices" scroll held by the figure of Uncle Sam which answers the consumers' questions on price control. Sept. 1942. Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division.

Print and Microform Resources

Below, please find information about our print and microformat resources for the Federal Circuit. The following titles link to fuller bibliographic information in the Library of Congress Online Catalog. Links to additional digital content are provided when available.

Records and Briefs of the United States Emergency Court of Appeals
Call Number: LL-047 RR
Format: Microfilm
Holdings: Docket numbers 1 to 676 (1941-1961; coverage range)
Location: Law Library Reading Room
Index: Available in print at the Reference Desk (shelved with other federal appellate court indexes)(by docket number and case name) (covers docket 1-docket 676; 1941-1961).

Additional Resources

For information on additional subscription databases containing federal appellate court dockets and court documents (records and briefs) from courts other than the U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, see the Additional Resources portion of this guide. All of these subscription databases are available in-person at the Law Library of Congress.

Archives Unbound External This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound contains the collection "Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, 1941-1961." It is a digital collection of the records and briefs from the U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, including Docket Numbers 1 to 676 (covering years 1941-1961). After you select the Archives Unbound link above, select the "Collections" link in the upper right-hand corner of the webpage, then browse to the "Price Control in the Court" collection (https://eresources.loc.gov/record=e1003286~S1)

The subscription resources marked with a padlock are available to researchers on-site at the Library of Congress. If you are unable to visit the Library, you may be able to access these resources through your local public or academic library.

U.S. Federal Appellate Courts: Records and Briefs

U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals

Print and Microform Resources

Additional Resources