Skip to main content

Bosnia & Herzegovina: Address and Telephone Directories

European Reading Room

European Reading Room staff help users navigate the Library’s vast European collections. The Division’s specialists promote discoverability by providing reference materials, guides, bibliographies, and other studies. Staff recommends new collection materials to best serve researchers, the library community, and federal agencies. The European Reading Room is located on the second floor of the Thomas Jefferson Building, in the Southeast Pavilion, entry is via the Hispanic Reading Room. A reader card is required for access to all reading rooms.

Collections and Services

Carol M. Highsmith, photographer. Second Floor, Southeast Pavilion. Domed ceiling of the Pavilion of the Elements showing Apollo surrounded by the elements Earth, Air, Fire, and Water by William De Leftwich Dodge, and signs of the zodiac by Elmer E. Garnsey. 2011. Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division.

The European Reading Room should be the starting point for readers and researchers whose interest relates to European countries, including the Russian-speaking areas of Asia, but excluding Spain, Portugal, and the British Isles.

Our staff of multilingual reference librarians can direct you to the materials you need and answer reference questions related to the European collections.

Special Services. The European Reading Room offers research orientations every other Tuesday. Consultations also are available by appointment or for walk-ins. The European Division also sponsors special events such as lectures and symposia.

The Reference Collection. The European Reading Room contains a reference collection of approximately ten thousand volumes on Europe. This collection covers all European countries except Portugal, Spain, and the British Isles, and includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical, historical, and genealogical works, guides, directories, statistical yearbooks, atlases, and specialized catalogs and guides.

The General Collections. Readers may access the catalog of the Library of Congress and have books and bound periodicals from the general collections delivered to the European Reading Room.

European Reading Room Collections. The European Reading Room has custody of current, unbound Slavic and Baltic periodicals (about 3,500 titles, including 250 newspapers). Also available are collections of political and social ephemera and uncataloged pamphlets.

Manuscripts, Microfilm, and Special Collections

Selected Guides for Researching European Collections

French-American Almanacs at the Library of Congress - The resources in this guide focus on French-language almanacs published in the U.S. since the mid-18th century.

Farmer’s almanacs provide information on forthcoming events, weather forecasts, farmers' planting dates, tide tables, and related information. The resources in this guide focus on French-language almanacs published in the U.S. since the mid-18th century.

Serbian Newspapers in the Library of Congress - This guide lists newspapers published in Serbia or the diaspora held by the Library along with links to external databases and websites for expanded research.

Newspapers are essential primary sources for both current and historical study. This guide lists newspapers published in Serbia or the diaspora held by the Library along with links to external databases and websites for expanded research.

Bulgarian Statistics: A Resource Guide - This guide to Bulgarian statistical publications covers major sources for demography, agriculture, public finance, and general statistics, focusing on Library of Congress collections.

This guide to Bulgarian statistical publications covers major sources for demography, agriculture, public finance, and general statistics. The selection is based mostly on the collections of the Library of Congress, but other sources are also included.

Croatia: Address and Telephone Directories -Telephone directories are used by genealogists and historians to identify people and businesses from a particular place and era.

Telephone directories are used by genealogists and historians to identify people and businesses from a particular place and era. This guide lists the directories from Croatia in the Library of Congress collections.

Russian Revolution of 1905: Topics in Chronicling America -This guide provides access to materials related to the "Russian Revolution of 1905”.

In 1905, Russian strikes, mutinies, and rebellions led to revolutions in their political system. This guide provides access to materials related to the "Russian Revolution of 1905” in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.

Belarus: Address and Telephone Directories -This guide lists the directories from Belarus in the Library of Congress collections.

Telephone directories are used by genealogists and historians to identify people and businesses from a particular place and era. This guide lists the directories from Belarus in the Library of Congress collections.