Skip to Main Content

Mexican Revolution: Topics in Chronicling America

Political rivals and revolutionaries vie for Presidency, power and control of Mexico in a ten-year struggle. This guide provides access to material related to the "Mexican Revolution" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers.


President Porfirio Diaz (left) and Francisco I. Madero Jr. (right). Medford Mail Tribune (Medford, Oregon), May 26, 1911. Page 1, Image 1. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.

On November 20, 1910, Francisco Madero leads a revolt against longtime Mexican President Porfirio Diaz after Diaz refuses to resign from the presidency. The revolution that ensues is tumultuous and bloody, lasting over 10 years. The United States looks on the revolution with caution, intervening twice in 1914 and 1916 in an attempt to protect U.S. interests and slow down the violence. Read more about it!

The information in this guide focuses on primary source materials found in the digitized historic newspapers from the digital collection Chronicling America.

The timeline below highlights important dates related to this topic and a section of this guide provides some suggested search strategies for further research in the collection.


November 20, 1910 Francisco Madero runs against sitting dictator Porfirio Diaz in the 1910 election. Diaz imprisons Madero and declares himself the winner.
May 25, 1911 Francisco Madero, Pascual Orozco, Francisco “Pancho” Villa, and Emiliano Zapata oust Diaz.
November 6, 1911 Madero wins the presidential election and is sworn into office. Factions arise amongst the original revolutionists over social and political beliefs.
February 1913 Madero and his Vice President are forced to resigned. They are later assassinated.
1913-1914 Victoriano Huerta becomes President of Mexico; however, he is later forced to step down and flee into exile.
1914 U.S. President Woodrow Wilson sends American Marines to Vera Cruz, Mexico, to support revolutionaries.
October 1915 Venustiano Carranza's government is recognized as the de facto ruling power by the United States.
October 1920 Alvaro Obregón is elected President.