Skip to Main Content

Nina Otero-Warren: Topics in Chronicling America

A leader in New Mexico's suffrage movement, Nina Otero-Warren was the first Hispanic woman to run for Congress. This guide provides access to materials related to "Nina Otero-Warren" in the Chronicling America digital collection of historic newspapers


Spanish Don's daughter among 4 women in race for Congress. September 14, 1922. New-York Tribune (New York, New York), Image 6. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.

Nina Otero-Warren (1881-1965) was a leader in New Mexico's suffrage movement. She believed in the necessity and importance of using the Spanish language in both education and politics in order to reach wider audiences.

In 1917, Otero-Warren was appointed Superintendent of Public Schools in Santa Fe County. She focused on improving the conditions of Hispanic and Native American communities. She criticized the federal government's Indian school system and argued both English and Spanish should be allowed in schools.

In 1921, Otero-Warren became the first woman to defeat an incumbent in office for nomination and the first Hispanic woman to run for Congress, although she was defeated in the general election. Read more about it!

The information in this guide focuses on primary source materials found in the digitized historic newspapers from the digital collection Chronicling America.

The timeline below highlights important dates related to this topic and a section of this guide provides some suggested search strategies for further research in the collection.


June 25, 1908 Nina Otero is married to First Lieutenant Rawson D. Warren.
October 1916 The Woman's Republican Club is organized in Santa Fe to work for the election for the Republican Ticket and for federal women's suffrage. Otero-Warren is part of this group.
1917 Otero-Warren is appointed Superintendent of Public Schools in Santa Fe County.
August 1922 Otero-Warren makes formal announcement as possible candidate for the Republican nomination.
November 1922 Elections are held. Otero-Warren does not win.