Skip to Main Content

Concerts from the Library of Congress: Pick of the Week

Week of November 12, 2021

This Pick of the Week features the 2021 virtual performance of Hub New Music.

Michael Avitabile, flutes. | Nicholas Brown, clarinets
Alyssa Wang, violin. | Jesse Christeson, cello

Marco Pavé, spoken word | Jared Bailey, trumpet
Carlos Simon, piano | Ruoting Li, piano

The versatile musicians of Hub New Music will offer an exciting range of new and recent music, presented in two videos available on the same night! Steven Mackey’s violin sonata, a classic McKim Fund commission from the Library’s archives, will be performed alongside a signature work by Takuma Itoh for Hub’s unusual combination of flute, clarinet, violin and cello. The centerpiece of the concert will be the virtual world premiere of Carlos Simon’s new work Requiem for the Enslaved, a work that grapples with the legacy of slavery at Georgetown University (where Simon is an Assistant Professor) and honors the lives and descendants of slaves sold to raise money for the construction of the university.

Pick of the Week-November 12, 2021

Hub New Music (event date: November 5, 2021)



Sonata for Violin and Piano




Requiem for the EnslavedVirtual World Premiere

Digital Collections and Resources at the Library of Congress

Concert Program

Looking for additional events?
You can check out last season’s Season-At-A-Glance here for access to existing content. You can also check out these special hubs that offer additional exciting material for you to view and read: