Skip to Main Content

Delaware: State Resource Guide

This guide provides access to digital materials related to the state of Delaware at the Library of Congress, as well as links to external websites and a selected print bibliography.


Delaware nicknamed the "First State" was admitted to the union on December 7, 1787. The state obtained it's name from explorer Samuel Argall who named it after Thomas West, Lord De La Warr. The state's capital is Dover.

This guide compiles links to digital materials related to Delaware such as books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, photographs, sheet music, and sound recordings that are available throughout the Library of Congress website. In addition, it provides links to external websites focusing on Delaware and a bibliography containing selected works for both general and younger readers.