Skip to Main Content

E. Annie Proulx, Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction Winner

On May 2, 2018, Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden announced E. Annie Proulx as the recipient of the 2018 Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction. Learn more about Proulx and her activities at the Library of Congress through this guide.


E. Annie Proulx, 2018 Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction Winner. Photo credit: Gus Powell.

On May 2, 2018, the Library of Congress announced the awarding of the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction to Pulitzer Prize winning author E. Annie Proulx. Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden offered the following remarks on Proulx's award:

E. Annie Proulx has given us monumental sagas and keen-eyed, skillfully wrought stories. Throughout her writing, she succeeds in capturing the wild, woolly heart of America, from its screwball wit to its every last detail. She is an American original.

E. Annie Proulx received the 2018 Prize for American Fiction from the Librarian of Congress during the 2018 Library of Congress National Book Festival at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. on September 1, 2018. [View recording of award ceremony.]

About the Prize

Since 2008, the Library of Congress has awarded a prize to distinguished writers of fiction. The Library of Congress Lifetime Achievement Award for the Writing of Fiction was created to honor a career dedicated to the literary arts. This award was first presented to Herman Wouk on Sept. 10, 2008. This inaugural award has inspired subsequent Library of Congress fiction awards, given in connection with the Library’s annual National Book Festival.

From 2009 to 2012, the Library of Congress Creative Achievement Award for fiction was presented to John Grisham, Isabel Allende, Toni Morrison and Philip Roth. Beginning in 2013, the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction has been presented to an author for a body of extraordinary work. Recipients have included Philip Roth, Don De Lillo, E.L. Doctorow, Louise Erdrich, Marilynne Robinson, Denis Johnson, E. Annie Proulx, Richard Ford and Colson Whitehead.

The annual Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction is meant to honor an American literary writer whose body of work is distinguished not only for its mastery of the art but also for its originality of thought and imagination. The award seeks to commend strong, unique, enduring voices that, throughout long, consistently accomplished careers, have told us something about the American experience.

Contact Information for E. Annie Proulx

If you would like to contact E. Annie Proulx please direct your inquiries as suggested below:

  • Reference/Programmatic Questions: Contact the Library's Ask a Librarian service (reference questions) or Literary Initiatives office, [email protected] (programmatic questions).
  • Permissions Requests: Contact the publisher directly regarding work written by Proulx.