Skip to Main Content

Louise Erdrich, Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction Winner

On March 17, 2015, Librarian of Congress James H. Billington announced Louise Erdrich as the recipient of the 2015 Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction. Learn more about Erdrich and her activities at the Library of Congress through this guide.


Louise Erdrich, 2015 Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction Winner. Photo credit: Hilary Abe.

On March 17, 2015, the Library of Congress announced the awarding of the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction to author Louise Erdrich. Librarian of Congress James H. Billington offered the following remarks on Erdrich's award:

Throughout a remarkable string of virtuosic novels, Louise Erdrich has portrayed her fellow Native Americans as no contemporary American novelist ever has, exploring—in intimate and fearless ways—the myriad cultural challenges that indigenous and mixed-race Americans face. In this, her prose manages to be at once lyrical and gritty, magical yet unsentimental, connecting a dreamworld of Ojibwe legend to stark realities of the modern-day. And yet, for all the bracing originality of her work, her fiction is deeply rooted in the American literary tradition.

Louise Erdrich received the 2015 Prize for American Fiction from the Librarian of Congress during the 2015 Library of Congress National Book Festival on September 5, 2015 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. [View recording of award ceremony.]

About the Prize

Since 2008, the Library of Congress has awarded a prize to distinguished writers of fiction. The Library of Congress Lifetime Achievement Award for the Writing of Fiction was created to honor a career dedicated to the literary arts. This award was first presented to Herman Wouk on Sept. 10, 2008. This inaugural award has inspired subsequent Library of Congress fiction awards, given in connection with the Library’s annual National Book Festival.

From 2009 to 2012, the Library of Congress Creative Achievement Award for fiction was presented to John Grisham, Isabel Allende, Toni Morrison and Philip Roth. Beginning in 2013, the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction has been presented to an author for a body of extraordinary work. Recipients have included Philip Roth, Don DeLillo, E.L. Doctorow, Louise Erdrich, Marilynne Robinson, Denis Johnson, E. Annie Proulx, Richard Ford and Colson Whitehead.

The annual Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction is meant to honor an American literary writer whose body of work is distinguished not only for its mastery of the art but also for its originality of thought and imagination. The award seeks to commend strong, unique, enduring voices that, throughout long, consistently accomplished careers, have told us something about the American experience.

Contact Information for Louise Erdrich

If you would like to contact Louise Erdrich please direct your inquiries as suggested below:

  • Reference/Programmatic Questions: Contact the Library's Ask a Librarian service (reference questions) or Literary Initiatives office, [email protected] (programmatic questions).
  • Permissions Requests: Contact the publisher directly regarding work written by Erdrich.