Skip to main content

Joy Harjo, U.S. Poet Laureate: A Resource Guide

A listing of upcoming readings, talks, and other national events featuring U.S. Poet Laureate Joy Harjo

2019-2020 National Events

Traditionally, poets laureate begin and end their terms with events at the Library of Congress. On September 19, 2019, Joy Harjo officially kicked off her laureateship with an inaugural reading in the Library’s historic Coolidge Auditorium. Throughout her term, she will also participate in events around the country. While these events are not affiliated with the Library of Congress, they offer audiences the opportunity to connect with Joy and her poetry. To attend or find out more about Joy’s events listed below, click on the provided event link or contact the sponsoring organization. To request an event featuring Joy Harjo, please contact Blue Flower Arts External.

Jump to: December 2019 | January 2020 | February 2020 | March 2020 | April 2020

 

December 2019

December 4, 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
An Evening with Joy Harjo, United States Poet Laureate External
South Dakota State University & Brookings Arts Council
Brookings, SD
Contact: Ashley Ragsdale, directorbac@swiftel.net

December 7, 8:00 PM
An Evening with U.S. Poet Laureate, Joy Harjo, at the KiMo Theater External
Bookworks
Albuquerque, NM
Contact: Amanda Suttone, events@bkwrks.com
 

January 2020

January 21, 4:00 PM
INTERVIEW with Joy Harjo, U.S. Poet Laureate, by Laure-Anne Bosselaar External
Palm Beach Poetry Festival
Delray Beach, FL
Contact: Miles Coon, palmbeachpoefest@aol.com, and Susan Williamson, Festival Director, srw@palmbeachpoetryfestival.org

January 22, 8:00 PM
JOY HARJO, U.S. Poet Laureate, Thomas Lux Memorial Reading External
Palm Beach Poetry Festival
Delray Beach, FL
Contact: Miles Coon, palmbeachpoefest@aol.com, and Susan Williamson, Festival Director, srw@palmbeachpoetryfestival.org

January 28, 7:00 PM
JOY HARJO in The Green Room External
The Merwin Conservancy
Honolulu, HI
Contact: info@merwinconservancy.org

January 30, 7:00 PM
JOY HARJO in The Green Room External
The Merwin Conservancy
Honolulu, HI
Contact: info@merwinconservancy.org

 

February 2020

February 5, 7:30 PM
JOY HARJO—An Evening with U.S. Poet Laureate External
UCSB Arts & Lectures
Santa Barbara, California 
Contact: Roman Baratiak, Roman.Baratiak@artsandlectures.ucsb.edu

February 10, 7:30 PM
LECTURE and Book Signing with Joy Harjo External
Hollins University
Roanoke, VA
Contact: Kathy Rucker, krucker@hollins.edu

February 12, 7:30 PM
READING by Joy Harjo and Sheila Heti, Althea Ward Clark Reading Series External
Lewis Center for the Arts, Princeton University
Princeton, NJ
Erin West, erin.west@princeton.edu

February 21, 7:30 PM
Reading with Joy Harjo External
The Carson McCullers Center for Writers and Musicians
Columbus, GA
Contact: Nick Norwood, norwood_nick@columbusstate.edu

February 22, 10:00 AM
Conversation and Q&A with Joy Harjo External
The Carson McCullers Center for Writers and Musicians
Columbus, GA
Contact: Nick Norwood, norwood_nick@columbusstate.edu

February 27, 7:30 pm
POETRY: Joy Harjo External
Hammer Museum
Los Angeles, CA
Contact: info@hammer.ucla.edu

February 28, 10:00 AM
11th Annual Creative Edge Lecture featuring Joy Harjo External
Arts Orange County
Irvine, California
Contact Info: Richard Stein, rstein@artsoc.org

 

March 2020

March 18, 7:30 PM
JOY HARJO “On Resilience” as part of The William R. Kenan, Jr. Lecture Series External
Transylvania University
Lexington, KY
Contact: Zoé Strecker, Director of the Creative Intelligence Series, zstrecker@transy.edu

March 26, 7:30 PM
AN EVENING with Joy Harjo External
UNC Pembroke Campus Engagement and Leadership (CEL Office) 
Pembroke, NC
Contact: Abdul Ghaffar, abdul.ghaffar@uncp.edu

 

April 2020

April 2, 11:00 AM and 8:00 PM
JOY HARJO, 2020 Irene Blair Honeycutt Distinguished Lecturer External
Central Piedmont Community College
Charlotte, NC
Contact: Amy Bagwell, Amy.Bagwell@cpcc.edu, and Angelina Oberdan, angelina.oberdan@cpcc.edu

April 4, 7:00 PM
POETRY READING by Joy Harjo External
Society for Study of Southern Literature at University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR
Contact: Lisa Hindrichsen, lhinrich@uark.edu, and Sara Beth Spencer, sspencer@uark.edu

April 9, 6:00 PM
JOY HARJO: Poetry, Performance, & Conversation External
Harvard University Native American Program (HUNAP)
Cambridge, MA
Contact: Shelly Lowe, shelly_lowe@harvard.edu, and Samantha Hernandez, samantha_hernandez@harvard.edu

April 20, 7:00 PM
Chautauqua Poets & Writers presents Joy Harjo External
Chautauqua Poets & Writers
Medford, Oregon
Contact: Eileen Bobek, emkbobek@gmail.com