Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Arkansas


Arkansas has a bicameral legislature, named the Arkansas General Assembly, which consists of the Arkansas House of Representatives and the Arkansas Senate. The House has 100 members representing 100 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 35 members representing 35 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the General Assembly can serve for a combination of 16 years in both the Senate and the House of Representatives.