Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Connecticut


Connecticut has a bicameral legislature, the Connecticut General Assembly, which consists of the Connecticut House of Representatives and the Connecticut Senate. The House has 151 members representing 151 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 36 members representing 36 districts, each serving a two-year term. There are no term limits for members of the Connecticut General Assembly.