Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Georgia


Georgia has a bicameral legislature, the Georgia General Assembly, which consists of the Georgia House of Representatives and the Georgia Senate. The House has 180 members representing 180 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 56 members representing 56 districts, each serving a two-year term. There are no term limits for members of the Georgia General Assembly.