Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Hawaii


Hawaii has a bicameral legislature, named the Hawaii State Legislature, which consists of the Hawaii State House of Representatives and the Hawaii State Senate. The House has 51 members representing 51 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 25 members representing 25 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the Hawaii State Legislature have no term limits.