Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Illinois


Illinois has a bicameral legislature, named the Illinois General Assembly, which consists of the Illinois House of Representatives and the Illinois Senate. The House has 118 members representing 118 districts, with members serving two-year terms. The Senate has 59 members representing 59 districts, each serving a combination four-year terms and a two-year term during any 10-year period. Members of the Illinois General Assembly do not have term limits.