Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Iowa


Iowa has a bicameral legislature, named the Iowa General Assembly, which consists of the Iowa House of Representatives and the Iowa Senate. The House has 100 members representing 100 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 50 members representing 50 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the General Assembly have no term limits.