Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Kansas


Kansas has a bicameral legislature, named the Kansas State Legislature, which consists of the Kansas House of Representatives and the Kansas Senate. The House has 125 members representing 125 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 40 members representing 40 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the Kansas State Legislature have no term limits.