Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Louisiana


Louisiana has a bicameral legislature, the Louisiana State Legislature, which consists of the Louisiana House of Representatives and the Louisiana Senate. The House has 105 members representing 105 districts, with members serving a four-year term. The Senate has 39 members representing 39 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of both the House of Representatives and the Senate may serve up to three terms.