Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Massachusetts


Massachusetts has a bicameral legislature, named the Massachusetts General Court, which consists of the Massachusetts House of Representatives and the Massachusetts Senate. The House has 160 members representing 160 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 40 members representing 40 districts, each serving a two-year term. Members of the General Court do not have term limits.