Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Minnesota


Minnesota has a bicameral legislature, named the Minnesota Legislature, which consists of the Minnesota House of Representatives and the Minnesota Senate. The House has 134 members representing 134 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 67 members representing 67 districts, serving four-year terms in years ending in 2 and 6, and a two-year term in years ending in 0. Members of the Minnesota Legislature have no term limits.