Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Mississippi


Mississippi has a bicameral legislature, named the Mississippi Legislature, which consists of the Mississippi House of Representatives and the Mississippi State Senate. The House has 122 members representing 122 districts, with members serving a four-year term. The Senate has 52 members representing 52 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the Mississippi Legislature have no term limits.