Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Missouri


Missouri has a bicameral legislature, named the Missouri General Assembly, which consists of the Missouri House of Representatives and the Missouri Senate. The House has 163 members representing 163 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 34 members representing 34 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the General Assembly can serve for eight years in either house.