Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Montana


In Montana, the judiciary has three general levels. The City Courts, Justice of the Peace Courts, and Municipal Courts are the lowest level courts, focusing on cases involving specific subject matter, such as traffic violations, small claims, and misdemeanor offenses. The District Courts are the courts of general jurisdiction; however, the Water Court and Workers' Compensation Court have jurisdiction over limited matters. The Montana Supreme Court is the highest court in the state.