Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Montana


Montana has a bicameral legislature, named the Montana State Legislature, which consists of the Montana House of Representatives and the Montana Senate. The House has 100 members representing 100 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 50 members representing 50 districts, each serving a four-year term. An individual may serve as a state representative or senator for no more than eight years in a 16-year period.