Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Nevada


Nevada has a bicameral legislature, named the Nevada Legislature, consisting of the lower Assembly and the upper Senate. The Assembly has 42 members representing 42 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 21 members representing 21 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the Assembly and Senate may serve for up to 12 years.