Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. New Jersey


New Jersey has a bicameral legislature, named the New Jersey Legislature, which consists of the New Jersey General Assembly and the New Jersey Senate. The General Assembly has 80 members representing 40 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 40 members representing 40 districts, each serving a four-year term, except in terms beginning in a new decade, where senators serve two-year terms. Members of the New Jersey Legislature do not have term limits.