Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. New York


New York has a bicameral legislature, named the New York State Legislature, which consists of the New York State Assembly and the New York State Senate. The Assembly has 150 members representing 150 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 63 members representing 63 districts, each serving a two-year term. Members of the New York State Legislature do not have term limits.