Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Ohio


Ohio has a bicameral legislature, named the Ohio General Assembly, which consists of the Ohio House of Representatives and the Ohio Senate. The House has 99 members representing 99 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 33 members representing 33 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the Ohio House are limited to four successive terms, while Members of the Ohio Senate are limited to two successive terms, with "successive" being defined as being separated by four years or fewer.