Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Rhode Island


Rhode Island has a bicameral legislature, named the Rhode Island General Assembly, which consists of the Rhode Island House of Representatives and the Rhode Island Senate. The House has 75 members representing 75 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 38 members representing 38 districts, each serving a two-year term. Members of the General Assembly do not have term limits.