Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. South Carolina


South Carolina has a bicameral legislature, named the South Carolina General Assembly, which consists of the South Carolina House of Representatives and the South Carolina Senate. The House has 124 members representing 124 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 46 members representing 46 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the South Carolina General Assembly do not have term limits.