Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. South Dakota


In South Dakota, the judiciary has three general levels. The Magistrate Courts are the lowest level courts, which focus on cases involving specific subject matter, such as traffic violations, small claims, and misdemeanor offenses. The South Dakota Circuit Court is the trial court of general jurisdiction. The South Dakota Supreme Court is the highest court in the state.