Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. South Dakota


South Dakota has a bicameral legislature, named the South Dakota State Legislature, which consists of the South Dakota House of Representatives and the South Dakota Senate. The House has 70 members representing 35 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 35 members representing 35 districts, each serving a two-year term. Members of the South Dakota State Legislature may not serve more than four terms in either chamber.