Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Tennessee


Tennessee has a bicameral legislature, named the Tennessee General Assembly, which consists of the Tennessee House of Representatives and the Tennessee Senate. The House has 99 members representing 99 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 33 members representing 33 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the General Assembly do not have term limits.