Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Vermont


Vermont has a bicameral legislature, named the Vermont General Assembly, which consists of the Vermont House of Representatives and the Vermont Senate. The House has 150 members representing 104 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 30 members representing 13 districts, each serving a two-year term. Members of the General Assembly have no term limits.