Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Virginia


The Virginia executive branch consists of the governor, lieutenant governor, and the state agencies. In Virginia, the governor is elected to four-year terms and is not able to hold office for consecutive terms; there is no overall term limit.