Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Virginia


Virginia has a bicameral legislature, named the Virginia General Assembly, which consists of the lower Virginia House of Delegates and the upper Senate of Virginia. The House has 100 members representing 100 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 40 members representing 40 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the General Assembly have no term limits.