Skip to Main Content

Guide to Law Online: U.S. Washington


Washington has a bicameral legislature, named the Washington State Legislature, which consists of the Washington House of Representatives and the Washington State Senate. The House has 98 members representing 49 districts, with members serving a two-year term. The Senate has 49 members representing 49 districts, each serving a four-year term. Members of the Washington State Legislature do not have term limits.