Skip to Main Content

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: A Guide to Primary and Secondary Resources at the Library of Congress

Music Manuscripts

This page describes the Music Division's unique music manuscript holdings: Mozart's holograph manuscripts and sketches for his own works, copyist manuscripts of Mozart's works, and manuscript cadenzas to Mozart's piano and violin concertos.

How to Find Holograph Manuscripts by Mozart

The Music Division holds 11 music manuscripts in Mozart's hand. The physical manuscripts live in several different places in the Music Division's collections, a reflection of how they were acquired. Search for them using the following information:

Holograph Manuscripts by Mozart

The following holograph manuscripts are held by the Music Division. Links to their digital copies have been included below when available.

The Music Division also holds a manuscript for Rondo for Soprano in F Major, K. 577, "AI desio, di chi t'adora." It is the sketch of vocal line and connecting wind passages for the Larghetto of a replacement aria for Susanna's "Deh vieni non tardar," in Le nozze di Figaro. The manuscript is part of the John Davis Batchelder collection (Call number: ML31.B4), has not yet been scanned, and has no Online Catalog record available. For more information, see the following 1991 article in The Musical Times:

  • Page, Janet K., and Dexter Edge. "A Newly Uncovered Autograph Sketch for Mozart's 'Al Desio Di Chi T'adora' K577." The Musical Times 132, no. 1786 (1991): 601-06.

Other Select Manuscripts of Mozart's Music

The Music Division's collections include copyist manuscripts, transcriptions, and arrangements by others of Mozart's music. Only the first item on this list has been digitized and made available online. All other items link to catalog records.

Search for additional related manuscripts in the Online Catalog.

Cadenza Manuscripts for Mozart Concertos

The Music Division holds several holograph manuscripts of concerto cadenzas uniquely connected to Mozart. Only the first two items, cadenzas by the composer and pianist Clara Schumann, have been digitized and made available online. All other items link to catalog records.