Skip to Main Content

Puerto Rico: Resource Guide

This guide provides access to digital materials related to Puerto Rico at the Library of Congress, as well as links to external websites and a selected print bibliography.


Puerto Rico, also officially known as Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico in Spanish, became a territory in the United States in 1898 after the Spanish-American War. San Juan is the capital. The official languages in Puerto Rico are Spanish and English.

This guide compiles links to digital materials related to Puerto Rico such as books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, photographs, sheet music, and sound recordings that are available throughout the Library of Congress website. In addition, it provides links to external websites focusing on Puerto Rico and a bibliography containing selected works for both general and younger readers.