Skip to Main Content

West Virginia: State Resource Guide

This guide provides access to digital materials related to the state of West Virginia at the Library of Congress, as well as links to external websites and a selected print bibliography.


West Virginia was admitted to the Union on June 20, 1863, by proclamation signed by President Abraham Lincoln. It is bordered by Pennsylvania to the north, Maryland and Virginia to the east, Kentucky to the southwest, and Ohio to the northwest. West Virginia's first Capital city was located in Wheeling, Ohio County. It was later moved to Charleston, then back to Wheeling, and then back to Charleston.

Charles Town, in Jefferson County, was where slave abolitionist John Brown was convicted of treason, conspiracy and murder following his raid on Harpers Ferry, also in Jefferson County.

This guide compiles links to digital materials related to West Virginia such as books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, photographs, sheet music, and sound recordings that are available throughout the Library of Congress website. In addition, it provides links to external websites focusing on West Virginia and a bibliography containing selected works for both general and younger readers.